Cracking up beautifully

I want to share this again. I am in some new experiences yet again and yes, sometimes they break me and bless me at once. I feel like there’s something here for you….

jakinsblog

The rain is coming down. Hard. All I can think of is the thirsty little thirty three acre parcel between railroad tracks where I spent the last month and a half toiling over native Wood Roses, Sword fern and Oregon Grape. My time there is finished. Sort of. Can one ever  really be finished with a place and time where we grow through doing hard time? I volunteered to do a field restoration with the Northwest Youth Corps meaning me and a group of seven teens would work a full day weeding a huge field by hand for five weeks. It was tough manual labor punctuated by sitting under a tarp in the dirt eating and using an outhouse. I had zero experience in such environments. I recently told my friend Shari it felt like I worked on a chain gang. But the truth is I chose to work myself…

View original post 842 more words

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close